Babies really can talk! This is so interesting…

December 1, 2006 at 8:56 am | Posted in Babies, Blogroll, Parenting, Ramblings | 2 Comments

This was featured on Oprah and you will be shocked to see how babies really can talk!

For millions of sleep-deprived mothers around the world, this woman’s findings could be a miracle! Priscilla Dunstan, a mom from Australia with a special gift, says she’s unlocked the secret language of babies.

When Priscilla was a toddler, her parents discovered she had a photographic memory for sound. At age 4, she could hear a Mozart concert on the piano and play it back note for note.

Priscilla says her gift has helped her hear a special “second language” beyond English, allowing her to detect moods and even diagnose illnesses! “Other people might hear a note but I sort of get the whole symphony,” Priscilla says. “So when someone’s speaking, I get all this information that other people might not pick up.”

That mysterious second language took on an astounding new meaning when Priscilla became a mother to her baby, Tom. “Because of my gift for sound, I was able to pick out certain patterns in his cries and then remember what those patterns were later on when he cried again,” Priscilla says. “I realized that other babies were saying the same words.”,,,

After testing her baby language theory on more than 1,000 infants around the world, Priscilla says there are five words that all babies 0–3 months old say—regardless of race and culture:

  • Neh=”I’m hungry”
  • Owh=”I’m sleepy”
  • Heh=”I’m experiencing discomfort”
  • Eair=”I have lower gas”
  • Eh=”I need to burp”

Those “words” are actually sound reflexes, Priscilla says. “Babies all around the world have the same reflexes, and they therefore make the same sounds,” she says. If parents don’t respond to those reflexes, Priscilla says the baby will eventually stop using them.

Priscilla recommends that parents listen for those words in a baby’s pre-cry before they start crying hysterically. She says there is no one sound that’s harder to hear than others because it varies by individual. She also says some babies use some words more than others.

Here is a link to the Oprah excerpt. http://www2.oprah.com/videochannel/videochannel_player.jhtml?video=213&category=14

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Interesting. I just wish someone would tell me if my daughter is telling me how to get her to sleep at night.

  2. Storiesbygrace,

    How old is your daughter?

    The word for “I’m sleepy” is “Owh”.

    Have you established a special routine for bedtime?

    Sincerely,
    Miss Julie


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.