Re-visiting the seven benefits of music education

October 9, 2009 at 6:51 pm | Posted in Aimee Carter, Kindermusik | 1 Comment
Tags: ,
Mom and Baby making music!

Mom and Baby making music!

Recently this article about the seven benefits of music education was brought to my attention again by Fellow Kindermusik educator Aimee Carter. Aimee shared, “I found it interesting, because it was not talking specifically about private music study or school age children. As a matter of fact, I see these same benefits every week in my Kindermusik classroom, even when it’s full of little babies! Music education enhances a child’s intelligence, academic success, social skills, and even physical fitness.” Aimee is right and this is so true of my Kindermusik classes too!

Here are the seven surprising benefits of music education:

Music boosts brain power.

Music leads to literacy skills.

Music adds to a child’s understanding of math.

Music helps children live in harmony with others.

Music is active.

Singing helps children stay strong.

Music supports self-expression.

Please take a minute to read the full article here.

See my previous post here.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for sharing that – your post is really very timely. I will read the full article, very interesting and useful. Anyway, you’ve got a very nice and interesting blog here. I always feel glad whenever I encounter people who have the same passion and love for music like what I actually have. I also admire your efforts to share your bright ideas on music teaching and learning. I always bear in mind that creativity and fun are necessary in education so as not to bore our students. Please keep on posting contents on some useful music teachers resources. Thanks again and more power. Have a nice weekend! Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

